skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Death Certificates

Florida Department of Health - Highlands County

  •  863-386-6040
  •  

    Mailing Address

    7205 South George Boulevard Sebring, FL 33875 

     

     

Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however there are some records on file at the State Office of Vital Statistics dating back to 1877.  Currently, Florida Department of Health – Highlands County has records dating back to approximately 2009 to the present year.  To obtain certified copies of earlier death records please contact the State Office of Vital Statistics. They can be reached by phone at: 904-359-6900 ext. 9000 or at http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/index.html

For death records 2009 to the present year, the first step is to determine your eligibility to receive a death certificate.

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death.

WITH CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMAITON: Death records with the cause of death information may only be issued to the following individuals:

  • The decedent’s parent or current spouse.
  • The decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age (18).
  • Any person who provides a will that has been executed pursuant to s.732.502, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent.
  • Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

If after reading the above information, you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, please call our Vital Statistics Office at 863-382-7215.

Cause of death information on death records over 50 years old is available to anyone completing an application and submitting the required fee. To obtain a certified copy of such older death records, please contact the State Office of Vital Statistics at 904-359-6900 or via the internet at http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/index.html

All requests for certification of a death certificate, that includes the cause of death information must include the following:

  • Signed death certificate application. Signature is required.   Regular Version (177kb doc)   Funeral Director Version (175kb doc)
  • The applicant’s PICTURE ID. Such as:
    • A valid driver’s license (front and back).
    • A state identification card (front and back).
    • A passport or military identification card.
    • A photocopy of your PICTURE ID is required for mail-in applications.
    • The applicant’s eligibility status (relationship to decedent).
    • The decedent’s full name, date and place of death.
    • The applicant’s full name, address and day time phone number(s).

The fee for each certified copy of a Florida death record is $10.00.  When purchased at the same time, additional copies of the identical death record are $8.00 each.

For your convenience there are three ways to apply for a death certificate:

  • Apply In Person
    • Florida Department of Health – Highlands County

7205 S. George Blvd.

Sebring, Florida 33875-5847

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday

For applying in person, fees are payable in cash; by money order or cashier’s check (made payable to Florida Department of Health – Highlands County); or by Visa or Mastercard.

  • Apply by Mail    - Florida Department of Health – Highlands County

  Vital Statistics

  7205 S. George Blvd.

  Sebring, Florida 33875-5847

                                Please include:

  • Signed death certificate application    Regular Version (177kb doc)   Funeral Director Version (175kb doc)
  • A copy of one of the following valid identifications
    • A valid driver’s license (front and back).
    • A state identification card (front and back).
    • A passport or military identification card.
    • A photocopy of your PICTURE ID is required for mail-in applications.
    • The applicant’s eligibility status (relationship to decedent).
    • The decedent’s full name, date and place of death.
    • The applicant’s full name, address and day time phone number(s).
    • Your payment
    • A self-addressed stamped envelope (for regular processing service)

For applying by mail, fees are payable by money order or cashier’s check.  Please do not send cash by mail

  • Apply by Fax – Fax number: 863-382-7283

Please include:

  • Signed death certificate application    Regular Version (177kb doc)   Funeral Director Version (175kb doc)
  • A copy of one of the following valid identifications (enlarged for easier verification when faxed)
    • Valid driver’s license (front and back).
    • State identification card (front and back).
    • Passport
    • Military identification card.
    • A photocopy of your PICTURE ID is required for mail-in applications.
    • The applicant’s eligibility status (relationship to decedent).
    • The decedent’s full name, date and place of death.
    • The applicant’s full name, address and day time phone number(s).
    • Credit card payment. Visa or Mastercard

Optional Purchases

  • Protective Certificate Sleeves: $2.00 each
  • Expedited mail service (3 days or less processing time): $15.00 (Does not include Express Delivery)**
  • Express Delivery: Price Varies (Does not include Expedited Service)**