

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA BIRTH CERTIFICATE

Applicant Information (Eligibility Requirements on Reverse Side)

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any vital record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

Applicant's Name:(Person requesting the record)					
(Person requesting the record) Mailing Address:			Apt #		
			•		
City: State: Z	IP Code: _				
Phone (with area code): email:					
Relationship to Person on Birth Record: Signature: VitalChek.com is the ONLY online vendor approved by the Florida Department of Health customers in completing the application process. Be cautious when sharing personal info and maintain appropriate security on computers and electronic devices.	h, Bureau d	of Vi	ital Statisti	cs to	assist
If applicant is an attorney, provide name of client you represent:					;
client's relationship to registrant:, and your bar/pro	rofessional license #:				
Information for Birth Search					
Full Name on Birth Record:					
Sex: Date of Birth: City/County:					
Mother's / Parent's Full Name Prior to First Marriage:					
Father's / Parent's Full Name Prior to First Marriage:					
Ordering Information (Definitions on Reverse Side)					
Normal processing time for computer certification is 3-5 business days. Amended record	rds require	add	-	cess	ing time.
Computer Certification: \$9.00 first computer certification	Fee	X	Quantity	=	
Additional Computer Certifications: \$4.00 each additional computer certification		X		=	
Photocopy certificates require additional processing time.					
Photocopy Certificate: \$14.00 first photocopy certificate	Fee	X	Quantity	=	
Additional Photocopy Certificates: \$4.00 each additional photocopy certificate		Х		=	
	Fee		Quantity		
Additional Years Searched: \$2.00 per year (Required when exact year is unknown. Maximum fee is \$50.00)		X			
Rush Order (Optional): Rush orders are given priority processing and requires an additional \$10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope " RUSH ". Expedite shipping is NOT included.		X		=	
	Total A	Total Amount Enclosed			
APPLICANT'S VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED (see list on reverse side). A \$9 search fee is included in a					

orders and is non-refundable. If no record is found, a certified "No Record Found" statement will be issued. Application must include signature of eligible applicant.

DH 726, 01/2022, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions)

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA BIRTH CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

If you need assistance, please contact our Vital Records Section at 904-359-6900 ext. 9000

<u>COMPUTER CERTIFICATION OF BIRTH</u>: Computer certification of birth printed on security paper with the Florida embossed seal, which is accepted by all state and federal agencies. Computer certifications are available from 1850 to present, but are limited from 1850-1916. A Computer certification has two different formats based on the year of birth:

- 2004 to Present includes: Registrant (name on the record), Date of Birth, Sex, Time, Weight, Place of Birth (City/County); and Parent(s) Name, DOB, Place of Birth.
- 1850 to 2003 includes: Registrant (name on the record), Date of Birth, Sex, County of Birth and Parent(s) Name.

PHOTOCOPY CERTIFICATE OF BIRTH: Photocopy certificate of birth manually produced from the original record on file and printed on security paper with the Florida embossed seal, which is accepted by all state and federal agencies. Photocopy certificates require additional processing time. The information collected at the time of birth varies based on the filing requirements at that time. **Time of Birth** was not collected on birth events between 1949 -1969.

<u>AVAILABILITY</u>: Birth registration was not required by state law until 1917, but there are some records on file dating back to 1850. Birth records under seal by reason of adoption, paternity determination or court order cannot be ordered in this manner.

ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes): Birth certificates less than 100 years old can only be issued to:

- 1. Registrant (name on the record) if of legal age (18)
 - 2. Parent(s) listed on the birth record
 - 3. Legal Guardian (must provide guardianship papers)
 - 4. Legal representative of one of the above persons (must provide documentation)
 - 5. Other person(s) by court order (must provide certified copy of court order)
 - 6. Upon receipt of registrant's death record, a birth certificate marked "Deceased" may be issued to registrant's spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age (18). Please notate "Registrant Deceased" on the application and include a photocopy of the death certificate.

If applicant is not one of the above, the application must be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate form (DH 1958) signed by an eligible person (form is available on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both, the person authorizing release and the applicant.

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING: Eligible applicant must provide a completed application, a copy of a valid photo identification, and any documentation required for proof of eligibility.

<u>ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION:</u> Driver License, State Identification Card, Passport, Military Identification Card. A foreign issued driver license, identification card, consular card, or Matricula card require two additional forms of identification, such as a vehicle title or registration, health insurance card, employment ID, school ID, tax document, or mail with current address.

FEES: Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. DO NOT SEND CASH. International payments must be made by Cashier's Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of \$15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded on written request.

OPTIONS FOR ORDERING:

CREDIT CARDS: The Bureau of Vital Statistics office currently does not accept credit cards by phone or mail, if you wish to order by credit card, you may contact VitalChek, our only approved vendor. VitalChek charges an additional processing fee of \$7.00 in addition a \$10.00 Rush Fee charged by the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Expedite shipping is available for an additional fee. VitalChek may be reached by telephone at 1-877-550-7330, by fax at 1-877-550-7428, or online at VitalChek.com.

MAIL IN: Normal processing time is 3-5 business days for computer certifications. Photocopy certificates require additional processing time. If requesting rush service mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". Rush orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided. Records that have been previously amended require additional processing time.

WALK-IN SERVICE: Visit 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am - 4:30 pm. Eligible applicants must present a valid ID when requesting confidential records. Photocopy certificates require the \$10 rush fee and may not be available for same day service.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT AND COPY OF VALID ID TO:

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS ATTN: VITAL RECORDS SECTION P.O. BOX 210 JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042

Express Mail and Courier Deliveries to: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:

www.floridahealth.gov/certificates